Cannes 2017 : The Critics Awards

The FIPRESCI Jury awarded three prizes: two in the Official Selection – one for the Competition and one for Un Certain Regard –, and a third one for either The Critics Week or the Directors’ Fortnight.

Prize in the Official Selection / Competition:
120 Beats Per Minute (BPM – Beats Per Minute / 120 battements par minute) by Robin Campillo (France, 2017, 140 min):
« A film about love. A film about life. Life stronger than death. A film as a glimpse of hope. »

Prize in the Official Selection / Un Certain Regard:
Closeness (Tesnota) by Kantemir Balagov (Russia, 2017, 118 min):
« A striking new voice provides an intimate portrait of a closed community. Complete cinema. »

Prize to a first or second film in the parallel sections, Directors’ Fortnight or La Semaine de la Critique:
The Nothing Factory (A fábrica de nada) by Pedro Pinho (Portugal, 2017, 177 min), presented in the « Directors’ Fortnight »:
« An evocative activist film that blows the boundaries between reality, fiction, theater an sociological discourse leading to an unsettling and provocative cinematic experience. »

Jury members were:
Alissa Simon, USA, president; Thomas Aïdan, France; Rodrigo Fonseca, Brazil; Barbara Lorey de Lacharriere, France; Pierre Pageau, Canada; Eva Peydró, Spain; Silvana Silvestri, Italy; Mode Steinkjer, Norway; Vidyashankar Jois, India. Coordination: Pamela Biénzobas, France/Chile.

FIPRESCI – The International Federation of Film Critics
© j:mag Tous droits réservés

Une pensée sur “Cannes 2017 : The Critics Awards

Commentaires fermés.